Skip navigation

Ryan Joost Van Poederooyen

Ryan "RVP" Van Poederooyen is a young and ambitious drummer from Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. He mainly owes his fame to being the drummer for Devin Townsend in the Devin Townsend Project (2009-Current) and the now defunct The Devin Townsend Band (2002-2006). Ryan play's drums for his newly formed metal band - Terror Syndrome (2007-Current), he also plays in another side-band called Ten Ways (2008-Current) a progressive rock band formed by former ex-Devin Townsend Band members Dave and Mike Young. Outside of the bands that Ryan plays for, he offers his services as a professional live or studio session drummer and teaches drums privately when time allows.

Currently RVP keeps himself busy 8-9 months of the year, rehearsing, playing live shows and recording albums with the Devin Townsend Project. They have toured non-stop, since 2010, through tons of countries worldwide. Touring stops over the years include their home country of Canada to the U.S.A., Australia, New Zealand, Portugal, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Denmark, England, Scotland, Ireland and almost every country in Europe. The list of new territory for the DTP to tour gets bigger every year. The DTP have been on bills as a support act to bigger bands but they also continue to headline 500-4000 seat venues right up to big European Festivals worldwide.

Ryan has done studio sessions for producers such as Brian Howes (Hinder, Puddle of Mud, Daughtry, Hedley), Chad Kroeger (Nickelback), Rhys Fulber (Fear Factory, The Tea Party, Josh Groban) among many more..... In the last 10 years, he has performed on many studio albums, to mention a few - Faber Drive (Universal Records) and their hit single 'Tongue Tied', Christofer Malmström's (Darkane) solo project named Non-Human Level (Listenable Records), and the progressive rock album Oniric Metal by Lalu (Lion Music) and last but not least RVP has played on five Devin Townsend Records :

  • Devin Townsend Band - Accelerated Evolution - 2003
  • Devin Townsend Band - Synchestra - 2006
  • Devin Townsend Project - Addicted - 2009
  • Devin Townsend Project - Deconstruction - 2011
  • Devin Townsend Project - Epicloud - 2012

Ryan has also drummed on the following live Devin Townsend DVD's:

  • Devin Townsend Band - Safe Zone, Live in Greenhouse Studios - 2006
  • Devin Townsend Project - By A Thread, Live in London England - 2012

Ryan has also appeared on the DTB DVD - Safe Zone and the four-part DVD of the Devin Townsend Project Albums "Live in London - November 2011"

Terror Syndrome, Ryan's metal band, consists of RVP on drums, Dave Padden (Annihilator) on Vocals, Dave Young (Devin Townsend Project) on Guitars and Mike Young (ex-Devin Townsend Band) on Bass Guitar. RVP released Terror Syndrome's debut album worldwide on July 10th, 2008. Ryan recorded the drums, wrote all the music, some lyrics and produced the record. Shaun Thingvold (Fear Factory, Strapping Young Lad) engineered the record. The album was recorded at the luxurious Armoury Studios in Vancouver, BC, Canada and was mixed by Devin Townsend at Greenhouse Studios. Terror Syndrome features an impressive list of collaborators, ranging from Devin Townsend, to Alex Skolnick (Testament), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle),Byron Stroud (Fear Factory), Christofer Malmstrom (Darkane) and Grammy nominated Session Bass Player Michael Manring. Terror Syndrome's debut album has been released world wide through the following on-line distributors:

  • iTunes
  • Napster
  • Amazon MP3
  • Rhapsody
  • Emusic
  • Lala
  • Shockhound

Terror Syndrome plays live shows when they have time outside of commitments to the Devin Townsend Project. RVP has begun writing for the follow up album to their self-titled debut album, and you can stay posted at Ryans for more news.

Ten Ways, formerly Ten Ways from Sunday, consists of RVP on Drums, Eric Severinson on Vocals, Dave Young (Devin Townsend Project, Terror Syndrome) on Guitars and Mike Young (ex-Devin Townsend Band, Terror Syndrome) on Bass. Ten Ways released their debut album 'The Solution' in May 2010. The album was recorded by Engineer/Mixer/RVP's brother, Jay Van Poederooyen (Hinder, Daughtry, Puddle of Mud, Hedley) at the very popular VanHowes Studios in Vancouver, BC, Canada. JVP also mixed the record at VanHowes Studios.Ten Ways are playing live shows during breaks from Ryan's and Dave's commitments to the Devin Townsend Project. The new Ten Ways album can be bought online at iTunes.

Lastly, Ryan is also currently teaching a handful of drum students privately and continues to do Studio Session Work when he has the time.

In closing, some words from RVP himself: "Drumming is a part of me that I will never let go of. It's an instrument and a passion that brings me happiness and peace. There is not a day I don't realize the accomplishments that I have achieved, that have made me a positive, happy and most of all.... a 'HUMBLE' individual. My drumming career is always a work in progress. I can always improve on my drumming and always climb the ladder to musical scenarios that continually get better and better. My desire and wanting to play the drums is like a marriage if you will, a lifelong commitment that I have chosen. It's exciting thinking about my future with drumming and music. I look forward to doing any session gig, recording any album, playing live and getting my hands on any drum I can.... what a gratifying feeling. The journey continues..." - RVP